SOPA Yes or No


So one of the biggest topics in the US is SOPA and PIPA. SOPA is the Stop Online Piracy Act and PIPA is the Protect IP Act, both that in my opinion, are USELESS. Absolutely Useless.

So one thing I found very amusing is this article a friend sent me. The title is The Author of SOPA Is a Copyright Violator. Now… that’s somewhat ironic isn’t it? In it, it talks about how our dear Lamar Smith who wrote this stupid act used a picture, that was not his, and did not credit the photographer. The photographer was later contacted and said he gave no consent/permission/whatsoever to Smith for authorized use of the picture.

So… if SOPA was passed, I wonder what would happen to Smith 😀 I’m sure he’d be really happy and glad to know the act he wrote got him sued. 😀

Read the article here: http://www.vice.com/read/lamar-smith-sopa-copyright-whoops

Now whether or not this is true, or if this even affects anything, i do not know. I just thought I should share this little piece of info 😀

 

Okay so, because of SOPA and PIPA it is said that major sites like Wikipedia, Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, etc. will be on strike. When I saw the black page for Wikipedia, I started clapping. I mean, I can’t live without it (almost) but HELL I’m sure the government won’t like a major site like that shut down.

Image

So what exactly is SOPA? Well, this article explains it pretty well.

http://www.theverge.com/2011/12/22/2648219/stop-online-piracy-act-sopa-what-is-it

To me, since copyright isn’t like a such a big deal, the only thing SOPA affects in my life is YouTube. I already get so angry from all the Copyright Infringement, and how uploaders have to write their titles all weird, and how so many of my favorite videos get deleted >:o. I mean, somehow, NND videos got copyrighted. What. The. Fuck

SOPA doesn’t do SHIT for us normal people. Sure, it helps the movie directors, the song producers, all that crap to earn money from the sales of the movies/cds/dvds, but seriously. If I could, I’d buy all the SHINee CDs AND download the songs from YT at the same time. Why? Idk 😀 Maybe cuz I’m crazy.

For those who have the resources to buy the stuff (location and money), they’ll buy it. I’m sure they will. I mean, you get a free photobook and a cd and a cd case 😮 But for some people, who live on the other side of the world (like me), cannot buy it. Sure,there’s Amazon, but not everyone have credit cards. Also, those CDs are EXPENSIVE. SHINee The First CD was 60 bucks I think. And the limited edition was like 80. The difference? I think there was ONE extra track. The main part is the poster and stuff. But some of us don’t want the poster, just the music. And there are people nice enough to upload it online….and risk copyright.

That’s just not fair. It’s like making everyone broke >:O One day, we’re all going to starve, and China’s going to ask us what happened, and we’re going to say SOPA doesn’t allow us to post movies, videos, and music online so we have to buy the CD for 60 bucks :D.

Okay, my understand of SOPA and PIPA might not be exact, but this is pretty much what I gather for it.

All in all, I applaud the sites that are going on strike to fight against these two acts. They are UNREASONABLE.

Image

ImageImage A couple screen shots of Google censoring out their logo. Which is really ironic, because then the whole thing about SOPA and PIPA is about censoring out the web. Guys, this is what the internet is going to be like :D. It’s going to be worse than the school’s internet. Imagine that….School internet blocks everything already. Now, more is going to be blocked.

Image

A picture of our WordPress.

These sites, I SUPPORT YOU! 😀

I normally don’t do politics posts… but this is pretty important to me.

About sweethollyichigo

The most random person on Earth, but is still sane :D. Loves animating, playing the piano, watching anime, reading manga, listening to music, and reading. Music type is Japanese Pop. Loves Nico Nico Douga singers. They are heavenly. :D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment